Welcome to my blog!


Let me first introduce myself:

My name in Tor Økland Barstad (the English version of the name is Thor), I come from Norway and I’m 19 years old. I study economics. Earlier I’ve had Norwegian blogs, but found that it’s probably more fun to blog in a language that’s spoken by more than five million people. Why I named my blog How is earth? Well, the blog is going to deal with a lot of “big” topics, and all the good names were already taken.

In Norway I try to convince  people that we should use our oil-revenue (we are stinky rich due to oil-export) to help rising living standards and fueling economic growth in poor countries. I have written a book about this, and hope to start an organization. Therefore some of the posts will be about foreign aid and other North-South-issues.

Besides from my political engagement I do what normal people do: I’m with friends, I watch TV, etc. I do exercise, but most of all I spend time with my computer. I also read a lot about a lot of things, and I think a lot about a lot of things. That’s why I’m starting this blog. My goal is that the readers of this blog will learn a lot, and get a new perspectives on different issues. But don’t worry, it isn’t going to be entirely serious either.

Hope to see you around!

Leave a Reply

